Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Share Thread:
[Tekumel] Tekumel Foundation's plans for 2016
Thank you, finarvyn, for clearly writing down some thoughts that for me were difficult to write down.

I couldn't find any Tekumel game nearby me, so I tried some play by post game as well, starting as a barbarian (as officially recommended for absolute Tekumel beginners) and... I'm not feel confident AT ALL at running a Tekumel game (as mentiooned by finarvyn) and, despite the few games, i don't feel my knowledge of Tekumel world really improved at all. I think that the game masters that run the games on line struggled a lot as well in conveying the marvel and the beauty (and the weirdness) of Tekumel world.
I think that it might help if really experienced (black belt) Tekumel game masters run introductory games (even for absolute beginners without any book) in popular role play on line websites (after all I encountered Monty Cook's Numenara this way and it was a good experience, that helped launching that ruleset nicely), but I don't know how many "black belt" Tekumel game masters are out there, available to do this kind of (boring?) work.
He's a real Nowhere man, sitting in his Nowhere land,
making all his Nowhere plans for Nobody.
This is aimed at the DM and not the player, but I think it's the kind of "blackbelt Tekumel scholar giving out wisdom" information to help somewhat.

http://odd74.proboards.com/thread/6117/ ... tal-throne

There are several posters at OD&D Discussion (see my sig) who have run EPT and would be happy to answer questions if you don't find what you need here at The Comeback Inn. At least one active EPT play-by-post game as well.

I agree that more player "quickstart" style resources would be an excellent addition to the Tekumel setting.
Marv / Finarvyn
Member of The Regency Council
Visit my Blackmoor OD&D board
OD&D since 1975

"Don't ask me what you need to hit. Just roll the die and I will let you know!"
- Dave Arneson